Lost in my easy chair

I’ve got this green easy chair that rocks and swivels.  In addition to it’s inherent comfort, it was given to me by a friend, who got it from a mutual friend and has significant sentimental value.  You could say it has velveteen rabbit qualities, it’s very real and well used.  It’s a great chair for reading, writing and contemplating your navel.

This is an easy chair to get lost in, more figuratively than literally.  This blog began with the thought that I was sitting in an easy chair and lost on the website.  It altered when I actually started writing.  It’s amazing how often that happens.  I’ve heard of automatic writing and sometimes wonder if that’s not what’s going on.  My fingers hover over the keyboard and words just start appearing on the screen.  Magical!  I’d swear on a stack of Bibles little thought is involved.  But then, I swear a lot!  Not kidding!  Ask the people who know me.

I have a love/hate relationship with words.  They are so often misunderstood.  Seem to be anyway.  And I hear things funny sometimes.  Usually funny HA HA, not always.  And the more tired I am the more literally I hear things and that has created some very humorous experiences.  Oddly, it doesn’t seem to help knowing about this quirk.   I’m a great believer in “knowing your audience”.  While there are undeniable elements of manipulation contained in the idea, it greatly contributes to complete communication.  Some of biggest misunderstandings I’ve dealt with have come from not knowing the other person was hearing me from one perspective and I was speaking from an entirely different one.  It’s like speaking different languages.

In my late thirties, early forties I began learning the language of the heart.  There is no Rosetta stone for this language.  It takes years to learn because the first element of the process is listening.  Not just hearing, listening.  I’m still a novice.  It’s more difficult to listen than I ever realized.  Quieting all the thoughts, opinions, advice,hopes dreams, prayers, criticisms, etc. just to hear another human being is challenging.  It takes time, present moment skills, willingness, humility and patience.  That’s really just a short list.  Don’t know that I will ever proceed beyond novice.

For most of my life I have spoken the language of the intellect.  It is a very rational, logical language, for the most part.  Any reasoning person can understand it.  The difficulty arises when logical, rational encounters feelings.  If one is incapable of expressing feelings rationally, one is often not heard.  And therein, ladies and gentlemen, lies the problem.  Feelings are often neither logical nor rational.  While it is true feelings are not facts, it is a mistake to discount and/or deny them.  It is also a mistake to let them run the show.  What is the working alternative?  Wisdom…the combination of intellect and feelings that can bring peaceful resolution to the most difficult situation.  It is the language of the heart.  One of the more difficult languages to learn, no matter what tongue you speak.  It begins with listening.

See, I told you this was a great chair to get lost in.

Leave a Reply

