Do YOU love home made bread?

I have THE best and simplest recipe for bread, if you don’t object to white bread.  I’ve been using it for years and couldn’t even tell you where I first found it.  A couple of people have taken credit for it, my Dad had it on a recipe card titled: Sis Daley’s home made bread.  Sis Daley was the wife of Richard J. Daley, notorious mayor of Chicago for many years.  I digress, here’s the recipe.

 

1 pkg  active dry yeast

1/4 cup warm water (not too hot to touch)

2 cps milk

2 TBSP butter

2 tsp salt

2 TBSP  sugar

5-6 cps flour

Put milk and butter in small pot on low heat until butter melts.  allow to cool slightly (not too hot to touch) combine with water and yeast.  I usually mix salt sugar and 3 cups of flour together and combine with milk mixture. Stir until tacky batter is formed. add remaining flour, one cup at a time until it is too thick to stir.  Coat hands in flour and begin kneading.  Dough should be smooth and elastic.  Leave covered bowl in warm place until dough is double in size.  Knead again. Cut in half and form two loaves. Place covered bread pans in warm place for about 30 minutes.  Bake in oven pre heated to 350 for 30-35 minutes.  Cool on rack.

I have played with this recipe and added shredded cheese and other ingredients to jazz it up from time to time and it has always turned out well.  The aroma gets people’s attention and there is rarely any waste. Many times the second loaf never made it to the freezer.

I have also substituted potato water, chicken stock and beef stock in place of the milk, still turned out well.  If you substitute the white flour with wheat or rye or whatever your favorite is, just know it’s going to be a heavier loaf of bread.  Even a half and half blend of flours produces a dense bread.  Tastes good, just not always a favorite.

My nephew calls me a Butterton, so, I cannot speak to alternatives to butter.  I might try olive oil someday or maybe grapeseed oil…I don’t like margarine or shortening and am opposed to butter substitutes on general principle.  Which doesn’t mean they might not work.  Try it your way; it’s only bread.

As too the sugar and salt, for some time now I have been favoring raw sugar and sea salt.  I tend to use as many organic ingredients as I have available when inspiration strikes.

I have started this recipe at like 8a.m. and had fresh bread in time for lunch.  Slower than running to the store, but, in my book….S o much better!

Oh, yeah, I knew there was something else about this recipe…It is great to do when I’m feeling stressed!  The more you knead the dough, the better the bread turns out!  Seriously!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Your Questions About Gluten Free Bread | Gluten Free Guide
  2. Trackback: Your Questions About A Mixture Of Flour And Water Is Called A
  3. Trackback: Better than canned bread or sliced beer « Noreen's space

Leave a Reply

