Don’t Just Do Something…Sit There

Did I read that right? yup, you did.  And, believe it or not, sometimes it’s a really good idea.  At least, I’ve found it to be so.  Just don’t get carried away with it.

The best time to turn the old saying around this way is when I’m tempted to do something stupid and/or impulsive.  Since I first heard this it has come to my aid enough times for me to recommend it.  I’m more prone to stupid/impulsive than I care to admit.  Which is why it’s so cool to have this little reminder to put the brakes on.  Since I think it’s funny, I’m more likely to “hear” it than I otherwise would be.  Doesn’t sound like nagging.  Too new, to me at least, to be cliché.

When I hear something like this, I add it to my collection.  Not a collection out on display to gather dust.  At least, not literally.   Most of them are things that just don’t fit in every day conversation, unless you’re really fond of non sequitur.  Here are a couple of my favorites:

  • Sh__ fire and save the matches! (excellent for those occasions when you’ve heard something unbelievable )
  • Who peed on your _________? (use with care, I might be the only one who thinks this is funny)
  • circle jerk (mental image is hysterical)

I have bunches of others; can’t call them to mind without situational prompting.  What this means is I sometimes burst out laughing, at just the wrong time.  Sometimes being literal is a bitch, sometimes just plain funny.  Either way, a fact of my life.  I tend to hear things and respond to them very literally when I’m tired.  People who have met me under these circumstances have said I should be a comedian.  Unfortunately, I like to sleep a few hours every night.  Oh well.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Carroll Guberman
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 10:10:38

    I have to express my appreciation for your kindness for those individuals that require guidance on your area. Your real dedication to getting the message all around became definitely invaluable and have all the time helped folks much like me to arrive at their dreams. Your important help and advice entails a lot a person like me and additionally to my colleagues. Regards; from each one of us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

