Essential Oils…how can they help You?

Glass vial containing Neroli Essential Oil

Image via Wikipedia

 

I have delayed talking much about essential oils for a few reasons.  I believe it is very important to be clear and accurate on any information I give out.  Since I first became aware of them I can sometimes, hardly contain myself.  What worries me about talking about them is that in my excitement I may leave out some important bit of information.  The other thing about being so excited is I want to say everything at once and that sure does garble the message.  Here is my attempt to present the information in some kind of order.

The best oils are in dark glass bottles and labeled with the name in Latin as well as English, list country of origin and whether or not it is blended with a carrier oil.  For instance, lavender essential oil is usually  pure, whereas rose absolute will be in a carrier oil, like jojoba.  There are various ways to make an essential oil (draw it from its source), some ways are better than others, depending on the level of purity sought. Cold press is reputed to be best and there is a chemical process that aroma therapists suggest Not to use on skin.  I haven’t attempted this on my own, yet, so I can only report things I’ve read.  Once you have the oil it is best stored away from light and heat.

If you are going to use an essential oil on your skin, most need to be blended in a carrier oil.  The lighter carrier oils, like grapeseed oil, apricot kernel oil, sweet or bitter almond oil are all good choices for massage or bath oils.  If you choose to create your own skin care products you’ll want things like olive oil or jojoba oil.  These two are dense oils and should be used proportionally with the lighter oils.  For instance a TBSP of almond oil+1/2 tsp of jojoba and about three to five drops of essential oil.

Next, especially if you are going to apply them to your body remember that if one drop is good, use ONLY one drop.  More is NOT better!!!!Some of the oils have opposite effects if you use more.  Like lavender.  One drop is relaxing, two keeps you awake and alert.  I am speaking of applying it “neat”, straight from the bottle, no carrier oil.  You can’t do this comfortably with all essential oils.  Citrus oils, if used neat ,tend to produce a burning sensation. Another thing about citrus oils, they produce photosensitivity for some people.  If you already sunburn easily keep looking until you find an oil that will produce the outcome you seek without this side effect.  There are probably several.

I just recently learned that there is such a thing as essential oil poisoning.  If you live with curious, fast moving little children, keep essential stored out of reach.  If you are following a recipe, measure carefully.  If you are using a blend topically stop after about 5-7 days.  Oddly enough the oils seem to continue to work for a couple of days after the last application.

Some authors say don’t take any essential oils orally.  Some suggest adding a drop or two to cold water, or, hot water as a beverage.  I’ve done this with peppermint oil and lemon oil and enjoyed a treat.  I hate plain water.  Had no physical discomfort or alarms as a result of having done so.  What I would say is, try a drop in an 8oz glass of water…if you re curious.  Then you decide.

If you are using oils for pain relief, topical application works best.  I’ve made blends for myself and blends for others.  The blends got used up and each person reported that it worked for what it was designed for.  As a proponent of alternative medicine I find it difficult, yet necessary to refrain from saying too much.  The FDA doesn’t back anything I would say.  And sometimes it’s hard to find suggestions on web pages and magazine ads; what with all the disclaimers required.

Whole Foods has a small section of their stores devoted to essential oils.  Sniff a couple of the testers.  Always keeping in mind any allergies you might have, the scents are intense.  If you really enjoy a specific oil and it is within a price range comfortable to you, try it.  If you don’t like the scent, no matter who told you it’s the best in the world, save your money.  It’s possible you may like it at a later date, then again, you might not.  Meanwhile, there are probably any number of others that you will like.  Those are the ones to try because they are the ones that will give YOU the best result.

Always do a patch test with an oil you haven’t used before or when you blend oils.  I use the inside of the elbow bend. Apply a small amount of the oil or blend and wait 24 hours.  If no itching or redness or other type of reaction my experience has been that it is safe to use.  I believe this is especially important if you are taking prescription drugs.  As a matter of fact, if you are taking prescriptions, find a medical source who has knowledge of both oils and pharmaceuticals.  Better safe than sorry.

There are plenty of books about essential oils.  Read, study,experiment, learn.  Actually, that’s another reason I backed away from the topic.  I’m only a very curious and persistent novice.  My goal here is to offer highlights. I’ve only been actively pursuing the subject for a couple of years.  People have spent entire professional lives in this field.  I feel graced to have found it at all.

There are so many reasons  to use essential oils: health, grooming, gardening, housecleaning, candle making, perfume making, cooking and baking.  They are great to have when travelling.

I find simplicity of use a big plus.  Open the bottle, take a whiff.  If I’d rather not carry the bottle around I put a drop or two on a tissue or cotton ball.  Easier to carry around than a diffuser and always as close as my pocket!  That’s just one example.  So many more come to mind, without effort.  I love essential oils and I’m always finding new ways to use them.

My introduction to these gifts of nature was, most likely, one of the strongest oils for physical wellness.  Oil of Oregano.  I read about it first in a book titled The Cure is in the Cupboard.  It first struck me as a book long advertisement, until I used the product.  Words do not express my delight at the results I got.  I have kept a bottle handy ever since.   The book is available in stores that feature organic products.  I hesitate to say health  food stores, cause I don’t go in them.  In Annapolis, MD there is a store called Earth and Sun; in Severna Park there is a store called Sage.  I’ve seen the book and the product described in both stores.

I just recently started using Zemanta and so there are plenty of places for you to look around, if you are interested.  If you’re not, thank you for your kind attention.

P.S.  the oil shown on the side is Neroli, a citrus oil.  Smells great.  Clear bottle shows color of oil, not good for storage.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 15:01:51

    The blend you so kindly gave Brian Thursday night has improved his awful cough. Thanks for your time, energy and materials all given with special Noreen love and care. (don’t gag, I really mean that.)

    Reply

  2. Lucila Maria
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 18:33:40

    After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://dominateseowithwordpress.com You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

    Reply

  3. ipod app reviews
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 05:41:02

    cool thanks for reis posting! btw are there feeds to your blog? I’d love to add them to my reader

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 15, 2011 @ 15:00:49

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I am learning as I go along and don’t think there are feeds to my blog because I haven’t established any. Don’t know how yet. will seek solutions and put them to work.

      Reply

  4. ipod app reviews youtube
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 16:35:10

    Keep up the amazing piece of function, I read couple of posts on this internet internet site and I think that your weblog is actually interesting and holds bands of amazing details.

    Reply

  5. how to write
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 00:15:47

    This is an interesting post. I am not sure if I agree with everything in your post, but you definitely put a lot of thought and effort into it so thanks for sharing your point of view! Leave your comments on my blog as well if you get a chance!

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 14:46:10

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I truly don’t insist that everyone, or, even anyone agree with my posts. I learn new things from people who disagree. I love learning new things and really love writing. And I will check out your blog, thank you so much for inviting me.

      Reply

  6. Terry goodkind books
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 01:17:48

    Excellent post here! This has a lot of information! You can definitely tell you spent a lot of time on your blog! If you have any tips can you help me out with mine?

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 18, 2011 @ 14:42:35

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I have learned most of what I know about blogging from WordPress support. I only started doing this actively this year. Scared myself some at first and backed off. Have recently printed out the introductory pages at WordPress support and begun making an effort to apply what is explained there. Trial and error. Does writerslobby have a similar section? Since that’s where your blog is, that’s where I would look first. I will answer any questions I can. Best suggestion, have fun with it!

      Reply

  7. Celesta Lucero
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 18:58:58

    very nice post, i actually love this web site, keep on it

    Reply

  8. writing tips
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 23:45:52

    Excellent post here! This has a lot of information! You can definitely tell you spent a lot of time on your blog! If you have any tips can you help me out with mine?

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 20, 2011 @ 10:44:09

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I thought I unspammed, replied and approved this the first time I read it. Don’t know what happened, sorry for the delay in responding.

      Reply

  9. Top ten fantasy books
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 02:18:04

    This is an interesting post. I am not sure if I agree with everything in your post, but you definitely put a lot of thought and effort into it so thanks for sharing your point of view! Leave your comments on my blog as well if you get a chance!

    Reply

  10. find my iphone app reviews
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 23:46:28

    I really like your web site! I went ahead and backlinked you here on my site! http://www.ipod-app-reviews.com/friends and I would really appreciate it if you could leave my comment here as a link back. Appreciate it!

    Reply

  11. ipod app reviews free
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 00:15:24

    I want to leave backlinks to sites I enjoy and that teach me something so I went ahead and left you one on my site, here: http://www.ipod-app-reviews.com/friends/ i’d extremely appreciate it if you could leave my comment here to be used as a backlink to mine! Thank You!

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 21, 2011 @ 15:52:30

      Please accept my sincere apologies. New at this and learning by trial and error. When I see things I don’t understand, I delete them. I promise, this one stays. Thank you for stopping and commenting. I trust I can read your work by clicking the hyper link?

      Reply

  12. Lane Byse
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 21:53:56

    There are some interesting closing dates in this article but I don?t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like more! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

    Reply

  13. Trackback: A Beginner’s Information To Utilizing Aromatherapy With Youngsters | Alkaline Water Benefits
  14. Darrell La
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 17:54:03

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

  15. hot toys for Christmas 2011
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 01:33:17

    Amazing blog!. This will help me during my christmas shopping this year!

    Reply

  16. hot toys for Christmas 2011
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 03:58:55

    Fantastic post!. This will help me during my christmas shopping this year!

    Reply

  17. top toys for Christmas 2011
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 09:22:49

    I love the blog post! I can most defenitly use this to help me out a bit when I am buying christmas gifts here soon!

    Reply

  18. top Christmas gifts 2011
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 10:01:57

    Amazing blog post!. This will help me during my christmas shopping this year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

