Epiphany

Do you love that word?  It does seem to have a religious tone to it.  Haven’t decided yet whether it’s an undertone or an overtone.  Not sure if it matters either.  What I’ve noticed is experiencing Aha moments in series, of late.

Many people I hang out with and talk to a lot might refer to them as spiritual awakenings.  And I can work with that too.  Seeing everyday life from a whole new perspective and not much has really changed on the outside.  Still getting older by the day, still about 5’7″, still don’t tell anyone my weight (even me), still live at the same house in the same room, etc, etc.  A few weeks ago I admitted, talked about some things that took place back in 2001 and took accountability for some action/inaction.  Nothing looks the same since!  A few simple words written on a page and said aloud to another human being.  Seems so simple, even elementary, now.   All very exciting and living one day at a time has taken on a whole new meaning.  Seems more necessary now than ever, cause the temptation is to jump into the future… in my head anyway.   My time machine is busted, so i can’t go there physically.

My point is, I’m not stuck and even more important, I know it!!!  Epiphany is a good word to describe the experience.  Hey, it’s even the #3 definition in the dictionary: an intuitive grasp of reality through something usually simple and striking.  The “and striking” gives me pause, all the rest seems right on target.  Also found out why I thought it had religious tones to it, it does.  January 6th, the celebration of the Magi visit to the Christ child.  I seldom think in religious terms, but, I will be pondering this, now.

To all the folks out there who have attempted to show me I wasn’t stuck, thank you.  Would love to have known this sooner and just glad to know it now.   My attitude and outlook are the things that changed the most.  To anyone who has never felt stuck, this is probably all gibberish.  To anyone who has felt stuck, trapped, doomed to live the perils of Pauline ’til the cows come home, I believe it is a message of hope.  For me, it took awhile.  It might for you too.   My path is the twelve steps; yours might be something different.  Seek and ye shall find.  Don’t mean to get all biblical, just that sometimes, it’s what fits.

Don’t worry, not walking on water or even attempting to.  Sat down to write and this is what came out.  I’ve often been fascinated by the results of these sessions.  Sometimes I start with a specific idea, other times just go with the flow.  I still use spell check, flying fingers don’t always touch exactly the right keys.  If it makes sense when I read it and spell check approves, I click publish.

Spell check approves!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. conniewalden
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 15:05:48

    What’s wrong with getting “all biblical”? Don’t apologize. There’s nothing wrong with getting biblical. The words, seek and ye shall find are words spoken by the Son of God. Take His advice…seek and find Him. Thanks for sharing. Connie
    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 07:52:37

      Thank you for reading and commenting. To answer your question, I believe the Bible is too often quoted as a quick fix. And I have seen people harmed using Bible text either out of context or without the compassion of a loving God. So, I apologize with the hope of taking out the sting for those who have been wounded. And also the hope that some might hear, that weren’t able to before.

      It took much time, healing and heart opening to reach the point of risking a quote at all. For years I could hear nothing but “the letter of the law”” which kills. I now resonate to “the spirit of the law” which brings life. And I respect that I am not alone, even in this.

      Reply

  2. Denise
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 09:44:55

    Regarding the Bible, time machines and spell check- I concur… ; )

    Reply

  3. Marcel Manocchio
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 08:00:28

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

