Preparing for the challenge!

Katie

How many NaNoWriMo participants do we have here?  November first is sneaking up, rather more quickly than I expected.  I’m feeling some chills that have nothing to do with current weather.  What HAVE I done?  What was I thinking? WAS I thinking?  It’s a crazy blend of excitement and fear.  I dread 11/01/11 and I can hardly wait for 11/01/11.  This might be even more fun than blogging!

A fiction novel of 50k words in thirty days!  They even did the math for me.  If I can write at least 1657 words a day, it’s possible.  And they don’t insist that the words make sense!  Seems to be a challenge I’ve given myself.  And those are the challenges that give me the most trouble.

The staff at the site suggest turning off spell check and other machine installed editors and also……………the internal editor!  It will be interesting to see if that happens.  I mean, who do you know that corrects a journal?  It is written specifically for private use.  No One else is going to read it.  Who cares if words are misspelled, punctuation is misplaced or missing altogether?  That would be me.  It only bothers me when I compose on computer.  I just CANNOT leave those squiggly red lines unattended to.  When I’m writing in pen and ink, that’s another story altogether.  Total abandon, seriously.  There is no little red squiggly nagging at me so, I just write on.

Has anyone ever disabled spell check?  How do you go about it? Is it easy to enable again?  Things I have to look into in the next couple of weeks.  Bet I can Google search it!  A friend of mine does it all the time, often her first thought when she comes across something for the first time.   The day may come when I do that as well.  It could happen!

When I went to the web site for the first time I momentarily considered just dropping the idea right then.  They were asking for a title!  In October!  And the request for that information followed me and posted itself at the top of every page I visited.  I’d swear it got there before me!  Like the light in the refrigerator.  Which I’m fairly certain is off when the door is closed, I’ve seen and played with the gizmo that controls it!

I gave my novel a title and a couple of opening lines, phew, that was easier than expected.  The synopsis, however WILL have to wait.  I have a whisper of an idea and a potential second character.  Not too bad.  I won’t be starting totally clueless.

I have been writing three pages long hand each day and have been fairly consistent with Postaday2011 throughout October.  That is encouraging.  Don’t know if it amounts to the daily word requirement, although I suspect it’s a good beginning.

There was a questionnaire on the site and one of the things asked was, musical preference when writing.  Huh?  people play music when they write?  I’m not sure I’ve ever tried that.  I can block out routine noise and activity, but, somehow I think I’d be paying more attention to the music than to words on the page.   Seems I’ll have to try it and find out for sure.  It probably doesn’t matter unless I go to a write in.  Right?

The other matter to run through the mill is a novel isn’t going to be as freewheeling as a blog.  And I haven’t yet needed to consider character development here.  Okay, plot lines  probably shouldn’t be all loosey-goosey either.   Well, we won’t know until we try; will we?

I’m thinking the story will be at least a little bit autobiographical. ( Must be a word, spell check didn’t even blink.)  Obviously, haven’t disabled it, yet.  I promise to any friends reading this, names will be changed, among other things.  This will not be a new century Peyton Place.  I like a good soap opera as much as anyone, if there were such a thing. As a good one.  Really, staging, acting, directing, wardrobe can all be superb, if the characters don’t learn from one day to the next, week to the next, month to the next…….it’s a guilty pleasure at best.  Almost as much fun as watching revenge movies.  There’s a word I’m looking for here and it escapes me at the moment.  Cathartic might apply, but, it’s not the one I’m thinking of.  We’ll come back to it.  Possibly MUCH later.

I seem to have run out of steam on this topic.  For now.  For the next couple of weeks, practice, practice, practice.  Subjects will most likely vary, as the have in the past.  The goals are word count and post. TTFN

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3by3 writing method
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 18:16:24

    good luck – will you revise and publish?

    Reply

  2. Geraldine Chesner
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 12:17:38

    I’m just writing to let you understand what a superb encounter my wife’s daughter gained reading through yuor web blog. She learned such a lot of issues, not to mention what it is like to have a very effective coaching mood to let other people easily fully grasp chosen tricky things. You truly exceeded our own expectations. I appreciate you for supplying those invaluable, safe, revealing and in addition fun guidance on your topic to Emily.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

