NaNoWriMo…Only hours from Start!

This is it! Last day of October! NaNoWriMo…Only hours from start!  After the build up, dang!  I’m getting nervouser and nervouser and I doubt that’s going to help.

I found out how to turn off spell check.  That’s a good beginning, right? The web site suggests it to encourage maximum production, minimum perfectionism.  I haven’t tested myself yet to see if I can function without it.  This isn’t like writing long hand.  It might be, without spell check.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to start at 12:01a.m. or follow habit and start in the morning.  I’m curious to find out what the novel will be about.  I have a general idea what I think I’m going to write.  Sometimes it happens, sometimes not.

I found a new distraction today, sitting on a bookshelf here.  Web site design.  Looks a lot like blogging to me, without all the code.  Sadly, it’s an old book and my initial experiment was a crashing defeat.  And NaNoWriMo is only hours from start!  What the hell was I thinking?  Oh, yeah, this is cool. Wonder if I could do this?  Maybe, just not now!  Maybe next year.

It is also Halloween.  I am prepared if trick-or-treaters come a knocking.  Don’t know about the dogs though.  I suspect they will lose their little dog minds.  They are new arrivals here and maybe, just a little, excitable.  At least it’s not fireworks.  Something to be said for that.

There’s a little chill in the air; our preview to winter has come and gone.  We got a little snow.  Very little.  It sure was a weird Saturday, for October.  Today has been rather quiet.  I did see one little princess waiting, with her Mom and sister, for the schoolbus.  I wonder if everyone “Trunk or Treated” this year? I only bought candy I like, so, whatever.

Sorry if I sound like a broken record…NaNoWriMo is only hours from start!

o hai, did u need spell checkz?

Image by annieee via Flickr

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Satellite M45-S2652 Battery
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 21:02:47

    It’s officially been November 1st for all of an hour – and I’ve got a day’s worth of words written already! Going good so far NaNoWriMo

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Nov 02, 2011 @ 08:03:13

      Awesome! NaNoWriMO!!!!! I hope you take some time to feed the muse. They get very cranky when they’re hungry!
      I was pleased with my first days work also. It was like the story has been around for awhile and just waiting for access to a keyboard.
      Write on my friend!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: NANOWRIMO & 75% Off Candy Day « Oops, Wrong Cookie
  3. lifeatnofixedabode
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 05:22:11

    Despite all the warnings about turning off your inner edititor I still couldn’t do it! Maybe because I’ve got plenty of time on my hands today…I get the feeling that towards the end of the month I’ll no longer even have an inner edititor in my deserpation to get it all finished in time!!! I was up at 12.01 and actually couldn’t sleep for trying to decide if I should start writing or try and get some sleep for an early start of writing….decisions decisions! Either way its going to be a great month – wishing you the very best!

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Nov 02, 2011 @ 07:59:06

      From what I’ve read of your work and plans, I do hope you find some rest anyway. Inner editors can be such task masters and they WON’T be shut off. Not with a couple of mouse clicks anyway.
      Enjoy your travels and if you take pictures, I look forward to seeing them.
      I’m just this side of total NaNoWriMo mode at the moment, so, specific comments on things said in your most recent posts are currently inaccessible. December, then we can chat! Amazed myself first day, over 5,000 words. Thank God for muses. All the best to you also!

      Reply

      • Lifeatnofixedabode
        Nov 03, 2011 @ 02:35:22

        Wow, 5000 words on day 1!!! I am super impressed! Having spent all of day 2 travelling I got nothing done yesterday, am spending the day in Hanoi with an old friend so day 3 isn’t looking good for getting any writing done.. Roll on day 4!! Keep up the good work!

      • noreenheath333
        Nov 03, 2011 @ 07:01:48

        Thank you. And I wish you well also. Hope the muses who have been waiting for the chance whisper at just the right pace for you to type. You have given them much to work with. Write on friend!

      • noreenheath333
        Nov 03, 2011 @ 15:48:25

        If this is a repeat reply, my apologies. I could swear I answered this earlier today.
        I suspect that my novel has been waiting for the very first chance to pour out. I still find it hard to believe I signed up for NaNoWriMo. I’ve never heard of it before a couple of weeks ago.
        By day Four I suspect you’ll be typing with the speed of light. Travel offers so much to write about. You didn’t mention if you have a storyline, outline, plot …all the usual novel stuff. If you did, it’s not in front of my face and I’m claiming senior moment here.
        Best wishes on getting a good start and I hope to hear more of your progress.
        Write on friend

  4. Tom Billups
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 09:48:15

    Hi there, You’ve done a great job. I will definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: NaNoWriMo Day #1: ribbons, cloaks and unexplained drivel. Mostly grunge. Lots of grunge. « Lemon City III
  6. Willow Wood
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 11:31:47

    You can totally turn off your inner editor! It’s easier once you reach chapter two/end of week one. And then by week three bombs start exploding. I’m new to your blog but I loved this post; vur quirky-fun. ^_^
    I HOPE YOU DID GREAT OMG IT’S DAY TWO KEEP GOING, GO, GO, GO~

    Also, random cat is adorable.

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Nov 03, 2011 @ 07:08:44

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. With all the excitement of NaNoWriMo it’s just so cool to still get readers and comments on the blog too. You didn’t say how your novel was progressing, hope it’s flowing smoothly. Got a little worried with the OMG thing. With inner editors off, I’m sure we’ll do well. Seems you’ve done this before, so I’m trusting you on the week 3 stuff.
      And I get giggles from the random cats also.
      Write on friend!

      Reply

      • Willow Wood
        Nov 03, 2011 @ 12:20:37

        Comments are always lovely to receive, so it’s just as nice to give them. I’ll be reading more of your posts, Miss. Heath! It’s really, really nice to meet you.

        Aw, thank you for asking. It’s not going that well this year. I’ve got two television scripts to hand in by the end of the month, supported by research. So, the novel is progressing when I don’t feel too stressed about spending time on it. But with determination and group hugs I’m sure we’ll both make it as winners. =)

        Yeah, this is my fourth year. Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before? I thought you had what with the ‘starting in the morning habit’. haha ^^

      • noreenheath333
        Nov 03, 2011 @ 15:22:26

        This is my first year and I’m still not sure what made me sign up. I think it’s a God thing and I won’t say more cause I don’t push stuff like that, at all. Let me say this, my sign in at the site is I can’t believe I’m doing this!!! Without the punctuation, of course.
        (((Willow))) long distance hug! I’m getting better at them. Sounds like your plate is full. Would I be familiar with the show you are writing for? I watch lots of BBC thanks to Netflix. Have found some real favorites. Of course I think it’s all older stuff, like 2 or 3 years since first broadcast.
        The starting in the morning is in conjunction with the Artist’s Way. Julia Cameron suggests three pages of long hand first thing, EVERY day. I’ve done it once before and it is an excellent habit. Can’t say why I ever dropped it. I’m very glad to have picked it up again.
        I have a friend that likes to say practice makes progress and I believe the more we practice writing, the greater our progress will be. See you in the winner’s circle!
        Write on friend!

  7. Willow Wood
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 16:19:53

    Oh, well the best of luck to you! What’s your username on the NaNo site? I shall seek you out. That’s a really interesting reason to sign up for this month, certainly not one I’ve yet heard. I hope you find what you were looking for when it gets to the end of the month =D

    I don’t write for anything major (yet ;D ), so I doubt it. What shows would you say are your favourite/you enjoyed the most?

    That sounds like an EXCELLENT habit indeed. My friend writes a two short stories a day. I don’t know how she does it. I admire those who can answer to chosen prompts or short stories consistently. And I agree with your friend ^_^

    Reply

    • noreenheath333
      Nov 04, 2011 @ 09:52:31

      My log in for NaNoWriMo is i_cant_believe_im_doing_this It was what was running through my mind when i got to the sign up page, so, i figured, what the hell.
      One of my long time favorites is Keeping Up Appearances. Doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen an episode, I still laugh. However, since Netflix, my range has greatly expanded. Midsomer Murders, Foyles War, Doc Martin, A touch of Frost, ….. There’s one about a Scottish laird that reminded me of Dallas (from back in the day) can’t think of the name to save my life. Oh and Hotel Babylon. Netflix has the biggest selection I’ve ever seen. Much better than what I recall from BBC/America. That was disappointing. Some of the constants on our PBS like as Time Goes By, Last of the Summer wine, To the Manor Born, The Vicar of___________, Rosemary and Thyme….Waiting For God. The Stephanie character always brought to mind one of my aunts. Seems I’m not as easily amused as i thought, at least when it comes to television. Too much empty headed crap on american chanels. Had begun to resort to selected movies only until I found Netflix. Then shopped BBC offerings and found so many choices. Too new to be mundane. And, I was relieved to find it wasn’t all Benny Hii, who is still hilarious in small doses, to me.
      I’ve written some responses to Plinky prompts, a short story a day sounds much more challenging. You know, of course, I’m going to have to attempt it, after NaNoWriMo. Holy cow, two a day? hmmm

      Reply

  8. TimCraudfield
    Nov 05, 2011 @ 07:26:57

    That’s certainly what I was looking for. Thanks for the info. By the way, other stories are not so fascinating. Please don’t be offended, just try to keep quality in this way 🙂

    Tim Craudfield
    Nike Coupon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

