How is it possible? November is half gone!

Snickers.

Image via Wikipedia

 

I  keep checking the calendar, the one on the wall, the one on my phone and the little one in the lower right corner of my handy-dandy Netbook and they all say the same thing!  How is it possible?  November is half gone!  Where did it go?

Yes, the Snickers bars and Milky ways are long gone.  Had some help with that, just so you know.  And I’ve made great headway on my novel.  You know, NaNoWriMo! I apologize that things seem to have fallen by the wayside here.  My intentions were good, but we all know about good intentions; don’t we?  Having made several round trips in the course of my life, I assure you, it’s true.  The road to hell is paved with good intentions! Would I lie to you?

And believe it or not, I do have a life that is not tied to a computer and the internet.  I know, it surprises me too!

There were even a couple of days when the only writing I did was the morning long hand pages.  Some things must go on, no matter what.  those couple of days were a combination of the good and the bad.  Not awful, just not real happy.  I guess they weren’t really “bad” as I think about them now.  No bad news or upsetting events or anything.  Just, no good news or sources of delight either.  Guess I’ve gotten kind of spoiled recently in feeling just so pleased with life I felt like dancing more often than not.  I think I’ve found a balance point.  it could happen.

Still, it is now minutes into the 16th of November and whether I write it or not, I’m thinking already!  I’m still not certain when the downhill run begins.  Might even be as early as September.  Then again, late October is more likely.  When dawn still looks like the middle of the night and dusk arrives sooner every day.  Wonder if that’s what makes time seem to fly.  Shorter daylight hours, no matter how they play with the clock!  Seems once November starts it’ll be a New Year before you can blink twice!

Could just be that I’m getting old.  I heard somewhere that time moves faster for old people.  Maybe I’m just having fun.  I’ve been doing a whole lot of laughing recently.  That helps.

The one thing I know for sure to slow things down is to wait for something.  The more impatient I am, the slower time moves.  Mostly, I don’t wait much anymore, even when standing in line.  Fortunately, I am often easily amused.  If I haven’t brought a book or some portable game, There are usually people to watch.  And wonder about.  And make up stories for.  Never a dull moment.  Once in a while, though, I do find myself waiting, impatiently.  It’s one of the main reasons I have done my best to stop doing that.  Cause waiting in my mind is often followed by, impatiently.  Like string on a yo-yo, they work together and in just about the same way.  Mood goes down, comes back up; mood goes down… you get the idea.  I prefer not to wait.  Seems better for all concerned if my attention is focused on something, anything else.

So, I’m still kind of wondering; How is it possible? November is half over already!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 07:40:47

    As much as I know better….every year I wish the winter to pass quickly and I play a mind game to help me deal with the cold dark months ahead. This is how is goes: The holidays and our December vacation in the Caribbean make January come up quickly. And after December 21st the days are getting longer. Then all we need to do is get through January…because even though February is the coldest, it’s the tail end of winter and March brings tiny signs of spring. Heck, I even have very-early-blooming daffodils on the south side of the house that bloom in February. I know better than to project and should “stay in the moment” and “be here now”…but it’s my way of staving off the winter blues and remembering that spring really will come and, in the big picture, it’s just around the corner. I’m still delighted when it snows and love to sled and play in it. And I’ve learned that the cold bothers me when I’m not dressed properly (ie. walk outside without hat and gloves, with jacket unzipped) If I take the time to bundle up, I’m prepared to enjoy the outdoors. Except in a biting cold wind, I enjoy a brisk winter walk and other winter outdoor activities.
    I love your blog. Keep writing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

